Engine Noise - GMC Terrain Forum : GMC Terrain Forums

Share LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-03-2013, 09:16 AM   #1

Default Engine Noise

We have a 2012 Terrain with the 4cyl EcoTech engine. I am actually a Quality Engineering Manager at a competitors Engine Plant, and inherited this vehicle through marrying my wife. If I had designed or built this engine I would be thoroughly embarrassed. It is noisy beyond belief. My work beater car has 270,000 miles on it and will put this EcoTech powertrain to shame! It uses well over 3 quarts of oil in 2000 miles and is a total disappointment to an otherwise good vehicle.

The dealer has replaced the chain tensioners and the cam phaser activation solenoids, only to have the noise return in a month. I have also removed the activation solenoids, cleaned them and reinstalled with no change.

I'm tired of dealing with the local dealers who want to do an oil economy study, and even then I'm worried that the new shortblock would be ruled to a "reman" assembly, something I know first hand is lower quality than even the OEM engine that I have right now. We have a 100,000 mile powertrain warranty, but the hassle hasn't been worth the warranty. I have personally intervened with these types of issues with our engine and always keep the customers best interest in mind. I'm not getting the same reciprocation from GM.

Has anyone else fought these issues with their vehicle?

-Can't wait to get a Jeep again!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-04-2013, 01:17 PM   #2

Have you been in contact with customer assistance regarding your concern? I would be happy to look into this for you with the last eight of your VIN and dealer name. Feel free to contact me privately for more assistance. Thank you.

Tricia, GMC Customer Service.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Old 01-27-2014, 12:13 AM   #3